MTB Logo

News Archive

11th MTB Foundation Bravery & Courage Award presented to Late Firefighters of the Sitakunda Fire Incident

MTB Foundation has recently presented its 11th Bravery & Courage Award to the families of the thirteen (13) Late Firefighters who lost their lives in the Sitakunda fire incident which is considered to have one of the highest fatalities in a single fire incident. MTB Foundation acknowledged the gallant sacrifice of the firefighters and presented the award to the families of the thirteen (13) Late Firefighters who lost their lives in the Sitakunda fire incident. The awardees are Mithu Dewan, Nipon Chakma, Md. Imran Hossain Mazumdar, Md. Rana Mia, Alauddin, Shakil Tarafdar, Ramzanul Islam, Salauddin Quader Chowdhury, Gausul Azam, Robiul Islam, Faridurzaman, Shafiul Islam and Moniruzzaman.

The award ceremony was held at the Bank’s Corporate Head Office, Gulshan 1, Dhaka 1212. Special commemorative crests and individual cheques were handed over to the family members of the Late Firefighters in presence of Syed Manzur Elahi, Founding Chairman & Director, Md. Wakiluddin, Chairman, Rashed Ahmed Chowdhury, Director, Nasreen Sattar, & Faruq Ahmad Siddiqi, Independent Directors, Syed Mahbubur Rahman, Managing Director & CEO, Chowdhury Akhtar Asif, Additional Managing Director & GCRO, Goutam Prosad Das, Md. Khalid Mahmood Khan & Rais Uddin Ahmad, Deputy Managing Directors from the Bank, Samia Chowdhury, Chief Executive Officer from MTB Foundation and Lt Col Zillur Rahman, PSC, Director (Operation and Maintenance) & Mamun Mahmud, Deputy Director (Administration and Finance) from Bangladesh Fire Service & Civil Defence.

MTB Foundation had introduced the Bravery and Courage Award in the year 2012 with a view to recognizing different acts of bravery and rewarding selfless individuals and their families.

« Back to News

Join Our