## **CORRESPONDENT BANKING**

Although the direct impact of "de-risking" on the respondent banks has now been rebounded, its indirect impact has continued to pop-up now and then. Trade service operations often require nonbinding action of foreign banks as 2nd advising bank, nominated bank, transferring bank, etc. under documentary credit process and to act as collecting bank and presenting bank under documentary collection process. Sometimes, foreign banks without having correspondent banking relationship are reluctant to act in the above supportive roles in various phases of trade operations. This intermittent impediment, on the plea of internal policy, hinders smooth trade operations.

Like any other respondent banks in Bangladesh, MTB also experienced withdrawal of correspondent banking relationships throughout the year in 2017 and it is expected to continue in 2018 as well. MTB,

in response to such acts of foreign banks, has taken a strategic initiative to establish and manage relationships with all possible local and regional banks with the support of Relationship Management Application (RMA) in order to ensure smooth trade service operations. The decision taken in early 2017 has helped us to maintain strong correspondent banking relationships with different renowned local, regional and global banks across the globe.

Currently, our SWIFT Relationship Management Application (RMA) network has 589 renowned banks, out of which 54 are local and 535 are foreign. We also maintain 37 NOSTRO accounts with different correspondent banks abroad in US Dollar (USD), British Pound (GBP), Euro (Eur), Japanese Yen (JPY), Swiss franc (CHF), Singapore Dollar (SGD) and Asian Clearing Union (ACU) Dollar and Euro.



ASIA + Afganistan + Bahrain + Bhutan + China + Combodia + Hong Kong + India + Indonesia + Japan + Korea + Kuwait + Kyrgyzstan + Lebanon + Malaysia + Macau + Nepal + Oman + Pakistan + Philippines + Qatar + Saudi Arabia + Singapore + Sri Lanka + Taiwan + Thailand + United Arab Emirates + Uzbekistan + Vietnam + Jordan

EUROPE | Austria | Belgium | Belarus | Bulgaria | Czech Republic | Denmark | Estonia | France | Finland | Germany | Greece | Hungary | Iceland | Ireland | Italy | Latvia | Liechtenstein | Lithunia | Luxembourg | Norway | Netherland | Poland | Portugal | Russian Federation | San Marino | Spain | Slovakia | Switzerland | Sweden | Turkey | Turkmenistan | United Kingdom | Ukraine

AFRICA | Egypt | Mauritius | South Africa | Tunisia

NORTH AMERICA | Cayman Islands | Canada | Dominica | Mexico | United States of America | Panama

SOUTH AMERICA | Argentina | Brazil AUSTRALIA | Australia | New Zealand